Reading African authors from across the continent

“It’s important to me that African stories be told by African people.” -Chimamanda Adichie (here)

I am seeking to read books by authors from every country in Africa. Please share with me what you recommend in the comments. Or link to your own reviews of books by African authors.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Reading African authors from across the continent

  1. Cameron Breslin (from CEGA) says:

    I strongly recommend “Song of Ocol” and “Song of Lawino” by Okot p’Bitek for Uganda. Could be called poetry, could be called short fiction. Undoubtedly an amazing piece of literature.

    Like

    • Cameron Breslin (from CEGA) says:

      Feel free to email me at cbreslin [at] berkeley [dot] edu for a scanned PDF

      Like

    • tukopamoja says:

      Thank you, Cameron! I write p’Bitek’s White Teeth many years ago, but I haven’t read either of these and would love to try them out. I will explore (and perhaps email you for a copy). 🙂

      Like

  2. dadakim says:

    Just a couple of quick recommendations because I need to get back to writing (and Goodreads is down so I can’t go to my list there):

    Jack Mapanje’s memoir: http://www.amazon.com/And-Crocodiles-Are-Hungry-Night/dp/0956240178

    So Long a Letter: http://www.amazon.com/So-Long-Letter-Mariama-Ba/dp/1577668065

    Like

  3. Jessica says:

    Great project! Some of my favorites already appear in your banner. I’d recommend Ambiguous Adventure by Cheikh Hamidou Kane (Senegal), Nervous Conditions by Tsitsi Dangarembga (author from Zimbabwe, set in Rhodesia), and When Rain Clouds Gather by Bessie Head (author from South Africa, set in Botswana).

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Damien says:

    Dear David,

    Thanks for your great blog. I expect it will be a source of inspiration for many travelers to Africa or fans of African literature. I have recently started to blog about the books I read as I travel on the blog “Travel Readings”
    http://www.travelreadings.org/
    I need to extend the list of African authors and will count on your blog for suggestions.
    I have recently posted about Rwanda and Tanzania and in particular about:
    1) “Our Lady of the Nile” by Scholastique Mukasonga. The novel takes place just after the Independence of Rwanda in a boarding school for girls located on the Congo-Nile Divide. I liked very much that book which received the Prix Renaudot in France in 2012. It mixes the modern dreams of the future female elite of the country, encounters with traditional fortune tellers, follies of old white settlers and the visit of Fabiola, Queen of the Belgians, in this religious school. But, behind all these adventures, one can already feel the simmering tensions between Hutus and Tutsis.

    http://www.travelreadings.org/2015/10/18/books-movies-and-beyond-rwanda/

    2) « The Last Gift », a novel by Abdulrazak Gurnah, a writer born in Zanzibar but living in the UK. I enjoyed very much this book which mainly takes place in England, in Norwich and Exeter, but has its origin and founding event in Zanzibar. Through the prism of an immigrant family in Great-Britain, the author evokes very subtly the sacrifices but also the secrets that are linking two generations.
    http://www.travelreadings.org/2015/09/02/books-movies-and-beyond-tanzania/

    I am looking forward to your next reviews.
    Best,
    Damien
    PS: Since you seem to be also be reading in French (impressive!), I also have a French version of my blog “Lectures de Voyage”: http://www.lecturesdevoyage.travelreadings.org/

    Like

Leave a Reply

